Welcome (Sign in | Register)


In 1852 the Duchy of Modena included the territories of Modena, Reggio, Garfagnana, Massa, Carrara, Guastalla and Frignano. The king was the Duke Francesco V of Austria-Este.
The Second War of Independence on June 11, 1859, the Duke Francesco V fled from Modena where he formed a Regency Committee then form a provisional government that ended in 1860 with the plebiscite and the subsequent annexation that King Vittorio Emanuele II sanctioned the March 18, 1860.